Exceptional Service Support Program

The Exceptional Service Support Program acknowledges and supports assistant and associate professors, especially women and those from historically underrepresented groups, who perform service activities beyond what is expected of faculty members.

Such service allows for a broad range of perspectives and experiences to be included in committees, shared governance, and student advising. However, disproportionately heavy service responsibilities mean faculty have less time to complete the requirements for promotion and professional advancement.

The Exceptional Service Support Program addresses these issues by granting faculty release time from teaching one course. Central funds of $8,000 will be provided to departments to hire an instructor to teach one course during the 2023-2024 academic year. The program is open to assistant and associate professors. We expect to provide awards for up to 12 faculty this year.

2022-23 Nomination Process

The department chair or mentor may nominate a faculty member. Nominations should identify the course from which the nominee would be released and describe the work the nominee has done to advance the mission of the university through service. Nominations should include a brief chair’s letter supporting the nomination if the chair is not the nominator.

Nomination packages should be uploaded to Box as a single PDF file no later than Dec. 6, 2022. Please name your file “NomineeLastName-SchoolCollegeDivision-DateSubmitted” (for example, Smith-Education-2022-12-06.pdf).

We anticipate reviewing nominations in December 2022 and announcing award recipients in January 2023.

Transfer of Funds

Funds will be added to the school, college, or division FY24 budget planning allocation.

Upload a Nomination

All nomination packages should be uploaded to Box.


Beth Meyerand
Vice Provost for Faculty and Staff Affairs
Office of the Provost